Executive Steering Committee

Philip C. Spinella, MD, FCCM   –  CO-CHAIR

Professor of Pediatrics, Division of Critical Care Medicine

Director, Critical Care Translational Research Program

Washington University in St. Louis


Geir Strandenes, MD, SMO NORNAVSOC  – CO-CHAIR

Senior Medical Officer, Norwegian Naval Special Operation Commando

Researcher, Department of Immunology and Transfusion Medicine

Haukeland University Hospital


Torunn Oveland Abelseth, MD, PhD

Senior Consultant

Department of Immunology and Transfusion Medicine

Haukeland University Hospital


COL Andrew P. Cap, MD, PhD, FACP

Medical Corps, US Army

Chief, Blood Research, US Army Institute of Surgical Research

Medical Director, Akeroyd Blood Donor Center

Associate Professor of Medicine, Uniformed Services University

Program Director, Clinical Research Fellowship

Deputy Hematology-Oncology Consultant to the Surgeon General

Staff Hematologist-Oncologist, San Antonio Military Medical Center


Marc De Pasquale, BS

18D Special Forces Medic

Paramedic NREMT

Deployment Medicine International


Håkon Eliassen


Brigadier General Elon Glassberg, MD, MHA

Prof. of Surgery

Head of the Medical Department

Israel Defense Forces Medical Corps


Donald H. Jenkins, MD, FACS, DMCC

COL USAF (Ret), Professor/Clinical, Division of Trauma and 
Emergency Surgery

Vice Chair for Quality, Department of Surgery

Associate Deputy Director, Military Health Institute

UT San Antonio, San Antonio, TX


Sean Keenan, MD, FAAEM FAWM

US Special Operations Command


Joseph Rappold, MD, FACS

CAPT MC USN (Ret); Chief, Acute Care Surgery

Trauma Medical Director, Department of Surgery

Tufts University School of Medicine

Maine Medical Center


Patrick Thompson


United Kingdom

Kevin Ward, MD

Department of Emergency Medicine

University of Michigan

Michigan Center for Integrative Research in Critical Care (MCIRCC)


Col Thomas Woolley RAMC

Defence Professor of Anaesthetics and Critical Care


Mark Yazer, MD

Professor of Pathology, University of Pittsburgh

Medical Director, RBC serology reference laboratory, Centralized Transfusion Service

Associate Medical Director, Centralized Transfusion Service

Adjunct Professor of Clinical Immunology, University of Southern Denmark